Georgia Seeks U.S. Disaster Relief for 33 Counties After Floods

April 13, 2009

Gov. Sonny Perdue has asked for a presidential disaster declaration covering 33 Georgia counties struck by severe weather and floods.

Perdue also issued an executive order declaring a state of emergency in 17 additional counties affected by heavy rains and storms that have passed through Georgia since March 27.

Previously, 16 counties were included in the governor’s order because of damage to a large number of roads, bridges, drainage systems, waste treatment facilities and other infrastructure.

Initial damage assessments by local, state and federal teams also revealed that more than 600 homes were damaged over widespread areas of the state.

A presidential declaration would provide assistance to public programs in 30 counties, and individual assistance in 18.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.