Emergency Declared for 11 Alabama Counties

April 1, 2009

Alabama Gov. Bob Riley has declared a state of emergency for 11 Alabama counties because of the severe weather that hit those areas over last weekend.

By declaring the state of emergency, the governor authorizes the Alabama Emergency Management Agency to assist communities, assess damage and seek state and federal assistance.

The affected counties include Baldwin, Clarke, Covington, Coffee, Crenshaw, Dale, Elmore, Geneva, Houston, Henry and Washington.

Alabama EMA officials including director Brock Long visited EMA officials Tuesday in Covington, Geneva and Houston counties.

Additional rain was expected in Alabama both Tuesday and Wednesday.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.