Residents in Gustav-damaged Mississippi Counties OK’d for Aid

September 29, 2008

Residents in three Mississippi counties — Hancock, Harrison and Washington — are approved for individual disaster assistance as a result of damages from Hurricane Gustav which struck the state on Labor Day.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said that Gov. Haley Barbour’s request for residents in those counties was granted Sept. 26. They’re eligible for the Individuals and Households program, crisis counseling, transitional sheltering assistance for those displaced and critical needs assistance. The Small Business Administration’s low-interest loan program also will be available.

Earlier this week, FEMA declared 20 Mississippi counties eligible for the Public Assistance program, which allows governments to be reimbursed for repair of infrastructure and debris removal and cleanup.

The eligible counties are: Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Copiah, Forrest, Franklin, George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Pike, Stone, Walthall and Wilkinson.

Information from: The Clarion-Ledger,

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.