South Carolina Farmers to Receive Federal Aid for Drought Relief

September 17, 2008

U.S. Sen. Lindsey Graham says South Carolina farmers who have been battling drought conditions are now eligible for low-interest loans after federal agriculture officials declared disaster areas throughout the state.

Graham announced on Sept. 15 that the U.S. Department of Agriculture designated 44 of South Carolina’s counties as primary disaster areas. The state’s other two counties — Beaufort and Charleston — were labeled as contiguous disaster areas, meaning farmers there can still get aid from the Farm Services Administration.

Asking for the declaration in August, Gov. Mark Sanford said the drought threatened South Carolina’s $2 billion-a-year agriculture industry.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.