More West Virginia Counties Eligible for Disaster Funds

July 2, 2008

Several additional West Virginia counties have been added to a federal disaster declaration issued in response to storms that hit the state over a five-day period the first week of June.

Gov. Joe Manchin’s request for the additional counties was approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency last Friday.

Individuals and households in Wetzel and Tucker counties can now apply for individual assistance grants. And government agencies and nonprofit organizations in Braxton, Calhoun, Lewis, Ritchie, Tucker, Webster and Wirt counties that had to perform emergency work or repair disaster-damaged facilities can apply for public assistance funding.

Manchin’s initial request included 11 counties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.