Tenn.: 3rd Disaster Declaration Amendment Aids Fentress County

March 5, 2008

In a third amendment to the disaster declaration for Tennessee for storms that struck in early February, the federal government has authorized public assistance for Fentress County, according to Tennessee Gov. Phil Bredesen.

The new authorization brings the total number of counties authorized to receive some form of federal assistance to 17.

“This form of federal aid allows public agencies to seek reimbursement for providing essential public service for various recovery operations,” Bredesen said.

Federal funding authorized by the disaster declaration falls into two main categories – individual and public assistance. With the addition of Fentress, 17 counties in Tennessee have been declared for public assistance, including Benton, Fayette, Fentress, Hardin, Haywood, Hickman, Houston, Lewis, Macon, Madison, McNairy, Perry, Shelby, Sumner, Trousdale and Williamson Counties.

Fourteen Tennessee counties have been declared for individual assistance, including Benton, Fayette, Hardin, Hickman, Houston, Lewis, Macon, Madison, Montgomery, Perry, Shelby, Sumner, Trousdale and Williamson.

Public assistance allows public agencies and certain non-profit agencies and utilities providing essential public service to seek reimbursement of 75 percent of eligible spending for recovery operations. These eligible operations may include debris removal, overtime for police and fire departments and other public workers, and repair or restoration of roads, bridges, public utilities, water control facilities, and public buildings.

On Feb. 14, Bredesen announced the State of Tennessee will help local governments receiving federal public assistance funding meet their obligation to provide matching funds. The state will provide half of those matching dollars – about $2.5 million – to help ease the burden on local governments.

Source: Office of the Governor of Tennessee

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.