9 Kentucky Counties Receive Federal Disaster Relief

February 25, 2008

President Bush has issued a major disaster declaration for parts of Kentucky hit by severe storms earlier this month.

The White House said that the declaration covers nine counties. Some of the areas were struck by deadly tornadoes that killed seven people. Weather officials said at least a dozen tornadoes touched down during the hard-charging storms.

The deaths were in Allen and Muhlenberg counties.

Bush’s declaration allows residents in affected counties to apply for federal funding, including grants for temporary housing and home repairs.

The counties are: Allen, Christian, Fayette, Hardin, Hart, Meade, Mercer, Monroe, and Muhlenberg.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.