Fire Alert Lifted for Remaining 17 Alabama Counties

September 24, 2007

Alabama State Forester Linda Casey lifted a fire alert for 17 counties in the northwest part of the state last week.

The affected counties are: Lauderdale, Limestone, Colbert, Franklin, Lawrence, Morgan, Marion, Winston, Cullman, Lamar, Fayette, Walker, Jefferson, Pickens, Tuscaloosa, Bibb and Shelby.

Casey announced the lifting of the fire alert in 50 other counties on Sept. 19.

All counties will have burning permits available, except where restricted by the state Department of Environmental Management regulations in Baldwin, DeKalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, Russell, Shelby, and Talladega counties.

Some prescribed burning will be allowed in these counties for forestry or agricultural purposes. Casey’s statement Friday reminded residents that the state is still experiencing abnormally dry conditions and all necessary safety precautions should be used when doing any type of burning.

It may be necessary to reissue an alert in the affected areas if ground fuels become exceptionally dry again, she said.

During a fire alert, the commission restricts issuing permits for outdoor burning. Any fire of more than a quarter-acre requires a permit from the Forestry Commission.

Lifting the alert doesn’t remove the restrictions in place prohibiting open fires for Alabama’s four national forests.

On the Net:

Alabama Forestry Commission,

USDA Forest Service,

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.