Eleven West Virginia Counties Added to Federal Disaster List

May 14, 2007

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has added 11 West Virginia counties to an earlier disaster declaration by President Bush stemming from last month’s flooding.

The additional counties that can seek federal funds to help clean up damage to public facilities are: Barbour, Gilmer, Grant, Hardy, Lewis, McDowell, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Putnam, Upshur and Webster, Gov. Joe Manchin’s office said Friday.

Counties in the earlier declaration are Boone, Cabell, Lincoln, Logan, Mingo, Wayne and Wyoming counties.

The declaration means some nonprofit groups and local and state governments may be able to recoup part of their costs for emergency work and for the repair and replacement of facilities.

The public assistance declaration does not apply to private homes or businesses that were damaged by flooding from April 14-18.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.