Federal Disaster Declaration Approved for W. Va. Flooding

May 8, 2007

Gov. Joe Manchin’s request for a federal disaster declaration in seven West Virginia counties was approved by President Bush.

The emergency assistance is the result of damage from severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that occurred between April 14 and 18.

The seven counties that qualify for the Public Assistance program under the declaration include: Boone, Cabell, Lincoln, Logan, Mingo, Wayne and Wyoming.

Under the program, the affected counties will receive assistance for infrastructure repair, emergency response and debris removal. In addition, hazard mitigation eligibility has also been granted statewide.

“We are currently continuing to evaluate damage in other counties for potential inclusion in this request also,” Manchin said.

Source: Office of the Governor of West Virginia

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.