Gov. Perdue Declares State of Emergency in Southeast Georgia

May 3, 2007

Gov. Sonny Perdue today issued an Executive Order declaring a state of emergency in 21 counties in southeast Georgia.

The affected counties face severe drought conditions, which have created an extreme and widespread threat for wildland fires, according to the order.

“The state of Georgia is committed to being there to help these communities for as long as it takes to put theses fires out,” Perdue said. “I continue to be impressed by the remarkable resolve of our emergency responders and the residents of the affected counties.”

Perdue visited Waycross Tuesday, receiving a briefing on the fires burning and meeting with local officials and responders. Some of the fires are the largest in Georgia’s recorded history.

The executive order ensures the continuation of state resources available to assist the Georgia Forestry Commission, the Georgia Emergency Management Agency and local governments in the response and recovery activities currently being undertaken in the above mentioned counties consistent with the Georgia Emergency Operations Plan. It also anticipates the need for state action in other communities that have the same threat for large fires due to the severe drought and fire fuel conditions that exist.

The fires have consumed over 100,000 acres. The State of Emergency is declared for the following counties: Atkinson, Bacon, Berrien, Brantley, Bryan, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Glynn, Lanier, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, McIntosh, Pierce, Ware and Wayne.

The Governor also issued a separate Executive Order that allows permitting for oversize trucks that are removing burnt timber from the affected areas.

Source: Office of the Governor of Georgia

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.