Hurricane Alberto Will Be 2006’s First Named Cyclone

June 1, 2006

The National Hurricane Center in Miami has announced the names of hurricanes to be used during the 2006 hurricane season, which begins June 1 and ends Nov. 30.

Named hurricanes will be: Alberto, Beryl, Chris, Nay Deen, Debby, Ernesto, Florence, Ra Fa El, Gordon, Helene, Isaac, Joyce, Kirk, Leslie, Oscar, Patty, Rafael, Sandy, Tony, Valerie and William.

If the standard list of names becomes exhausted, the Greek alphabet, Alpha, Beta, Gama, etc. will be used, as it was last year.

During 2005, a record 28 storms formed, including an unnamed October subtropical storm that was added to the official list in April.

The long-term averages for the number of named storms, hurricanes and major hurricanes are 11, six and two, respectively. The NOAA seasonal outlook for 2006 calls for above-normal levels of activity.

Source: The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.