Three More Miss. Counties to Receive FEMA Funding for Hurricane Dennis Costs

July 15, 2005

Three Mississippi counties on Friday were declared eligible to receive federal funding for emergency protective efforts taken preparing for and during Hurricane Dennis.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced the funding eligibility for Pearl River, Simpson and Hinds counties.

Federal Coordinating Officer Jesse Munoz of FEMA said the emergency protective measures of public assistance encompasses necessary costs incurred prior to, during and following the disaster. These costs are limited to actions taken by governmental agencies to save lives, protect public health and safety, and to prevent damages to improved public and private property, Munoz added.

Emergency communications, emergency access and emergency public transportation costs also may be eligible. Examples of eligible emergency protective measures include:

* Warning devices such as barricades, signs and announcements
* Search and rescue
* Security forces (security and guards)
* Construction of temporary levees
* Provision of food, water, ice and other essential needs
* Emergency repairs
* Emergency demolition
* Removal of health and safety hazards

On Sunday 38 other Mississippi counties were declared eligible for similar funding for their preparations and response to Dennis.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.