Ala. County Added for FEMA Assistance

December 6, 2004

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has amended its disaster declaration to make Calhoun County, Alabama eligible for federal Public Assistance.

This latest addition brings to 51 the number of Alabama counties that are eligible for Public Assistance under the Sept. 15 federal disaster declared as a result of major damages caused by Hurricane Ivan. Calhoun County was previously designated as eligible for Individual Assistance, which aids homeowners, renters and businesses in affected areas.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program reimburses state and local governments and certain private non-profits on a cost-share basis for debris removal and emergency protective measures taken to respond to the storm, and for the repair or restoration of public infrastructure damaged by the storm.

Counties previously declared eligible for public assistance include: Autauga, Baldwin, Bibb, Bullock, Butler, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Cleburne, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, Dallas, DeKalb, Elmore, Escambia, Franklin, Geneva, Green, Hale, Houston, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lawrence, Lee, Lowndes, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Pickins, Pike, Shelby, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Washington, Wilcox, and Winston counties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.