Nine More Florida Counties to Receive Federal Disaster Aid from Frances

September 7, 2004

Federal disaster aid for people victimized by Hurricane Frances has been extended to include the counties of Alachua, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Hendry, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns and Volusia, the head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced on Tuesday.

Michael Brown, Under Secretary of Homeland Security for Emergency Preparedness and Response, said stricken residents are eligible to apply for federal assistance that can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also are available to cover residential and businesses losses not fully compensated by insurance.

The newly added jurisdictions bring to 27 the number of Florida counties that have been designated for aid to homeowners, renters and businesses. The counties previously designated for the assistance include Brevard, Broward, Citrus, Glades, Hernando, Highlands, Indian River, Lake, Martin, Miami-Dade, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Polk, St. Lucie and Sumter.

Affected residents and business owners in the designated counties can begin the disaster application process by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers are available 24-hours a day, seven days a week until further notice.

Brown said that those in the counties that were designated for aid for Hurricane Charley are eligible to apply for assistance again for damage caused by Frances.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.