W. Va. Gov. Extends State of Emergency for Several Counties Hit By Storms

August 18, 2004

West Virginia Gov. Bob Wise has extended the State of Emergency for 10 counties and added Fayette and Lincoln counties to the proclamation.

“Several areas of our state suffered substantial damage to private and public property because of severe rains and flooding,” Wise said. “The effects of these storms continue to pose a threat to the health, safety, welfare and property of citizens in the affected counties and surrounding areas. Extending the State of Emergency provides our citizens with more time to rebuild and repair the damages.”

Counties included in the extension are: Braxton, Gilmer, Jackson, Kanawha, Logan, Mingo, Putnam, Raleigh, Roane and Wyoming.

Because of a succession of new storms on July 22 that brought additional heavy rains, Fayette and Lincoln counties were added to the proclamation.

A State of Emergency was declared by proclamations on May 28 and June 1. A proclamation issued on June 9 extended the emergency through Aug. 30. This latest order continues the State of Emergency through Oct. 30, 2004.

Wise also extended the suspension of the West Virginia consumer sales tax and service tax and the West Virginia use tax on purchases or uses of specified building construction materials and supplies through Oct. 30 for the 12 affected counties.

Flood victims with the appropriate FEMA claim number and documentation are eligible for the exemption.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.