FEMA Reps to Tour at Least Five Ky. Counties

June 1, 2004

Representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are touring storm damaged counties in Kentucky today to determine if the commonwealth qualifies for federal disaster relief. The Governor’s Office and Kentucky Emergency Management officials are drafting a letter that will be sent to President George W. Bush asking for federal disaster relief pending the outcome of FEMA’s survey.

Governor Ernie Fletcher declared a state of emergency in several Kentucky counties on Friday, following brutal weather that ripped through the commonwealth Thursday night. Additional counties will be added to the state of emergency declaration later today following the storm damage other counties suffered over the Memorial Day holiday weekend.

“Governor Fletcher and our administration will be asking the federal government to help storm victims across our state,” said Lieutenant Governor Steve Pence. “I have been in close contact with the Governor as we coordinate efforts between state and local resources so the families devastated by these storms can start rebuilding their lives.”

Kentucky Emergency Management officials say FEMA representatives will be surveying the damage in Fayette, Magoffin, Henry, Lincoln and Johnson County.

The counties that have made local declarations include: Morgan, Knox, Powell, Hopkins, Martin, Clay, Oldham, Lincoln, Henry, Fayette, Grayson, Johnson, Floyd, Pike, and Magoffin. Clay City, Stanton, Salyersville, Paintsville, Eminence, and Providence have local declarations of emergency as well.

Pence has toured the storm damaged areas twice in the course of four days and is remaining in close contact with Governor Fletcher, who is on an economic development trip in Japan.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.