N.C. Governor Names Young as Vice Chair of State’s Industrial Commission

April 9, 2004

North Carolina Gov. Mike Easley has named Pamela Thorpe Young of Cary to serve as vice chair of the North Carolina Industrial Commission. Easley appointed Young to the commission in May of 2003.

“Pam’s extensive legal qualifications and her strong record of public service make her a natural choice for this leadership position with the Industrial Commission,” Gov. Mike Easley said.

Young was the deputy secretary for the arts and libraries and legal counsel for the N.C. Department of Cultural Resources from 2002 to 2003. Previously, she served as a deputy commissioner on the N.C. Industrial Commission. She has also worked as a policy analyst for the N.C. Governor’s Office of State Planning and an assistant county attorney for Travis County in Texas.

The Industrial Commission administers the Workers’ Compensation Act, Law Enforcement Officers’, Fireman’s Rescue Squad Workers’ and Civil Air Patrol members, Death Benefits Act, Tort Claim Act, and Childhood Vaccine-related Injury Compensation Program.

The board has seven members, each serving a 6-year term. The governor appoints all members and designates from their number the chair and vice chair. The Industrial Commission is currently chaired by Buck Lattimore.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.