Tornado-Stricken Arkansas County Gets Disaster Declaration

May 1, 2014

President Barack Obama has approved a major disaster declaration for an Arkansas county hit hardest by a tornado that killed 15 people.

Gov. Mike Beebe and the state’s congressional delegation announced Tuesday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency designated Faulkner County a major disaster area. Beebe had requested the federal aid on Monday, and the delegation earlier Tuesday asked the White House and FEMA to quickly approve the help.

With the designation, Arkansans will be eligible to apply for individual assistance to cover the costs of temporary housing, home repairs, disaster unemployment assistance, Small Business Administration low interest loans, medical expenses and other needs. Faulkner County will also be eligible to apply for public assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.