Oklahoma Insurance Department Creates Anti-Fraud Advisory Board

January 31, 2013

Oklahoma Insurance Commissioner John D. Doak announced the creation of an advisory board to increase the effectiveness of the Oklahoma Insurance Department’s Anti-Fraud Unit. The board includes four legislators, a county undersheriff, a police chief and two professors of criminal justice.

The board includes: Sen. Bill Brown, R – Broken Arrow, Rep. Dan Kirby, R – Tulsa, Rep. Mike Christian, R – Oklahoma City, Rep. John Bennett, R – Sallisaw, Thom Parr, Criminal Justice Professor at East Central University and CLEET instructor, Dr. Robert Scott, Dean of College of Education and Technology at Fort Hays State University, Tulsa County Undersheriff Tim Albin and Miami Chief of Police George Haralson.

The advisory board, along with OID Anti-Fraud Director Michael Copeland and Deputy Commissioner Owen Laughlin, will meet twice a year to discuss Oklahoma Insurance Department investigations that resulted in criminal charges, offer suggestions and collaborate on statewide efforts. The Anti-Fraud Advisory Board will hold its first meeting later this year.

Source: Oklahoma Insurance Department

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.