Okla. Governor Declares Emergency After Earthquake

November 10, 2011

Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency for 20 counties after earthquakes, tornadoes and severe storms battered the state in recent days.

Fallin issued the executive order on Wednesday. It allows state agencies to make emergency purchases and paves the way for seeking federal assistance if it is deemed necessary.

Since Saturday, Oklahoma has been rattled by more than a dozen earthquakes of 3.0 magnitude or higher, including a 5.6 quake that set a new state record and caused some damage in central Oklahoma.

Parts of the state also have been hit by tornadoes, straight-line winds and heavy rains.

The counties in the declaration are: Caddo, Carter, Cleveland, Comanche, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Johnston, Kiowa, LeFlore, Lincoln, McCurtain, Murray, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Sequoyah, Tillman, and Washita.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.