USDA Declares Disaster for 74 Oklahoma Counties

July 29, 2011

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued a disaster declaration for 74 of Oklahoma’s 77 counties.

Gov. Mary Fallin said the secretarial disaster declaration was issued on Wednesday in response to her June 10 request to help farmers hit by drought and wildfires.

The only counties not included in the declaration are Nowata, Craig and Ottawa counties in far northeast Oklahoma.

Fallin’s office says the declaration will allow farmers to apply for emergency loans and be eligible for federal assistance. Farmers affected by drought should request information from their local Farm Service Agency office.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, the entire state of Oklahoma currently is experiencing drought conditions, ranging from moderate in the east to exceptional across the western third of the state.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.