About $9.6M Sent to Arkansas for Storms

May 23, 2011

Arkansas and federal officials say more than $9.6 million in state and federal disaster assistance has been made available to residents affected by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding.

Officials say more than $8.1 million in housing assistance and nearly $1.5 million in other kinds of aid had been approved as of May 20. The Arkansas National Guard was given $360,000 under the public assistance program to help it cover costs associated with protecting people and property during the disasters.

Residents in 26 counties can apply for state/federal grants under FEMA’s Individual Assistance program.

These counties are Benton, Boone, Clay, Crittenden, Cross, Faulkner, Garland, Greene, Independence, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lonoke, Madison, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Phillips, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Washington, White and Woodruff.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.