USDA to Help Arkansas Farmers Affected by Storms

June 11, 2010

The U.S. Department of Agriculture says four counties in Arkansas have been designated as natural disaster areas because of losses caused by severe weather.

The agency announced June 9 that Faulkner, Lonoke, Mississippi and Woodruff counties were chosen because of severe storms, hail, high winds and tornadoes that occurred April 23 through May 4.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack says the action will help farmers who had significant production losses to crops that include corn, upland cotton, rice, soybeans, wheat, peaches and strawberries.

Natural disaster assistance also is being extended to farmers and ranchers in 16 contiguous counties: Arkansas, Crittenden, Monroe, Pulaski, Cleburne, Cross, Perry, St. Francis, Conway, Jackson, Poinsett, Van Buren, Craighead, Jefferson, Prairie and White.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.