Okla. to Receive Federal Aid for Ice Storm

March 8, 2010

The White House has approved Oklahoma Gov. Brad Henry’s request for a major disaster declaration for the Jan. 28 ice storm.

Under the declaration issued March 5, 25 counties will receive public assistance for expenses related to response to and recovery from the winter storm that left 179,000 homes and businesses, mainly in southern Oklahoma, without power at one point.

Preliminary damage estimates from the storm exceed $69 million, and surveys are continuing. Henry’s office says as they reach the federal threshold for relief, a request will be made to add additional counties to the disaster declaration.

Counties included in the declaration are: Alfalfa; Caddo; Cleveland; Comanche; Cotton; Delaware; Dewey; Ellis; Grady; Greer; Harmon; Haskell; Hughes; Jackson; Kiowa; LeFlore; McClain; Muskogee; Okmulgee; Pontotoc; Pottawatomie; Roger Mills; Seminole, Stephens and Washita.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.