Arkansas Governor Declares 46 Counties Disaster Areas

November 9, 2009

Gov. Mike Beebe has named 46 more Arkansas counties as disaster areas following severe storms caused tornadoes and flooding last month.

Beebe took the action Saturday. It is separate from previous declarations for earlier October flooding that named five counties. A total of 51 Arkansas counties have now received state disaster status due to severe weather in October.

Counties listed in Saturday’s declaration are Arkansas, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Chicot, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Cross, Dallas, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Grant, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Logan, Lonoke, Marion, Miller, Monroe, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Scott, Sharp, St. Francis, Union, Van Buren, White and Woodruff.

Previously declared disaster areas were Ashley, Clark, Desha, Little River and Madison counties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.