Disaster Declarations Rise to Three for Oklahoma

June 22, 2009

A major disaster declaration granted by President Obama is the third presidential disaster declaration of the year for Oklahoma.

Gov. Brad Henry’s office announced that Obama had approved federal individual assistance to residents and businesses in nine counties where damage from wildfires occurred April 9-12.

Nearly 270 homes and businesses were damaged — including 228 homes destroyed — as fires burned more than 100,000 acres in the state.

Oklahoma is waiting to hear about a request for assistance for local governments in 11 counties where damage from heavy snows occurred March 27-28.

Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management spokeswoman Michelann Ooten says the state is appealing the denial of a request for assistance in 17 counties because of damage caused by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding April 25 through May 16.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.