Arkansas Gov. Beebe Adds 10 Counties to Flood Disaster List

May 22, 2009

Arkansas Gov. Mike Beebe has declared a disaster in 10 more counties because of heavy rain and floods that hit the state earlier this month.

Beebe’s announcement brings the total of counties declared disaster areas to 42. Beebe added to the list of state disaster areas Ashley, Cleburne, Greene, Howard, Jackson, Marion, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike and Polk counties.

Beebe said that individual assistance for eligible flood victims is available in Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Cleburne, Grant, Union, Clark, Dallas, Jefferson, Garland, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett, and Saline counties.

Beebe earlier asked the federal Agriculture Department to provide emergency loans to farmers in 24 Arkansas counties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.