Arkansas Governor Declares 32 Counties Disaster Areas

February 6, 2009

Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe has declared Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Cross, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Logan, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Newton, Poinsett, Pope, Randolph, Scott, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren and Washington Counties state disaster areas due to damage caused by a severe ice storm in late January.

Beebe has also submitted a request to President Obama for a federal major disaster declaration for 25 of these counties where FEMA assessments have already taken place. Additional counties will be added to the federal request as those assessments continue.

The governor’s declaration also carries a 30-day exemption of some federal restrictions for commercial vehicles helping with disaster response.

Arkansans, who sustained uninsured damages from the ice storm or those who have other questions about the disaster, may contact the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management at 1-888-683-2336.

Source: Arkansas Governor’s Office,

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.