20 Counties in Ark. Declared Disaster Areas After Ike

September 30, 2008

Arkansas Gov. Mike Beebe added Craighead, Lawrence, Madison, Newton and Saline counties to the list of state disaster declarations following damage caused by the remnants of Hurricane Ike on Sept. 13 and 14.

Beebe previously declared Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Garland, Greene, Hempstead, Howard, Izard, Jackson, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Randolph, Sharp and Van Buren Counties.

The declaration makes it easier for local governments to coordinate with the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management and other state agencies during response and repair efforts.

ADEM officials are in the final stages of determining whether Arkansas will meet the threshold for federal assistance related to Ike. President Bush approved federal assistance for 18 Arkansas counties following Hurricane Gustav.

Source: Arkansas Governor’s Office

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.