Twenty-Six More Louisiana Parishes Declared Disaster Areas

September 22, 2008

Twenty-six more Louisiana parishes have been named federal disaster areas because of Hurricanes Gustav and Ike.

The public assistance declaration allows federal money to go to state and local governments, and to certain private nonprofits for emergency work and repair of disaster-damaged facilities. It does not mean individuals will receive federal financial help.

Governor Bobby Jindal and U.S. Senator David Vitter announced the following parishes are newly declared federal disasters because of one or both storms: Allen, Acadia, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Iberia, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, Rapides, Sabine, Saint Charles, Saint John the Baptist, Saint Martin, Saint Mary, Saint Tammany, Terrebonne, Vermilion and Vernon.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.