Hurricane Gustav Disaster Declaration Extended for Louisiana

September 19, 2008

Twenty-five Louisiana parishes are now able to get federal aid to rebuild their buildings and facilities damaged by Hurricane Gustav.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has extended its Gustav disaster declaration in Louisiana for those parishes from just reimbursement of debris removal and immediate response efforts to include reimbursement for permanent reconstruction of facilities.

The parishes include: Acadia, Ascension, Assumption, Catahoula, East Baton Rouge, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jefferson, LaSalle, Lafourche, Livingston, Natchitoches, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, St. Bernard, St. Helena, St. James, St. Landry, Tangipahoa, Vernon, Washington, West Baton Rouge, West Feliciana and Winn.

FEMA officials say they anticipate adding another 22 to the list.

The governor has asked for all 64 parishes to be included.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.