Arkansas Governor Declares Disasters in 26 Counties Due to Floods

March 24, 2008

Arkansas Gov. Mike Beebe has declared 26 counties disaster areas due to the damage from this week’s heavy rains and floods.

Beebe’s office said last week that more counties are likely to be added to the list, considering the flood waters were still rising in places.

The disaster declaration is to help state and local emergency officials coordinate more easily. The state Emergency Management Department has begun an attempt to secure federal aid.

The counties declared by Beebe are: Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Crawford, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hot Spring, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Logan, Madison, Marion, Nevada, Newton, Randolph, Scott, Searcy, Sharp, Stone and Washington counties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.