Ark. Gov. Declares 3 More Counties Disaster Areas

February 12, 2008

Arkansas Gov. Mike Beebe has added Franklin, Marion and Newton Counties to the list of state disaster areas due to the damage caused by powerful tornadoes and violent thunderstorms on Feb. 5, taking the total to 13 counties. Beebe previously made declarations for Baxter, Conway, Independence, Izard, Pope, Randolph, Sharp, Stone, Union and Van Buren Counties.

Also, the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration announced that tax relief and extended filing deadlines will be available to victims in declared counties. More information is available at

Affected residents who need to sign up for state assistance may still do so by calling the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management at 1-877-828-3362.

Federal individual assistance is also available through FEMA in the federally declared counties of Baxter, Pope, Sharp, Stone and Van Buren. For more information on federal assistance and the locations of FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

The U.S. Small Business Administration is also offering low-interest loans for business owners looking to rebuild after the storms. SBA representatives are at the FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers, or you may get information by calling 1-800-659-2955 or online at

Arkansans looking to donate to recovery efforts can find a central database of charitable and non-profit organizations on the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management’s Web site

Source: Arkansas Governor’s Office

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.