Bush OKs Major Disaster Declaration for 7 Okla. Counties

December 19, 2007

President Bush granted Oklahoma Gov. Brad Henry’s request for a major disaster declaration for seven Oklahoma counties impacted by recent ice storms. Henry said in an announcement that more counties will be added to the declaration as damage assessment surveys continue across the state.

Describing the ice storm as one “of historic proportions,” Henry praised Bush for granting the Dec. 15 request.

The declaration means public assistance will be available for expenses related to infrastructure damage including roads, bridges and public facilities, as well as the costs of debris removal. Counties now covered are Cleveland, Lincoln, Mayes, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Tulsa and Wagoner.

Source: Oklahoma Governor’s Office

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.