Ark. Commissioner Elected Officer at NAIC

January 26, 2007

Arkansas Insurance Commissioner Julie Benafield Bowman has been elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Southeastern Zone of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), her office announced. Becoming an officer of the Zone elevates Bowman to the Executive Committee of the NAIC.

The Southeastern Zone includes commissioners and regulators from Florida, West Virginia, South Carolina, Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and the U.S territories of Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

The NAIC is a voluntary organization of the chief insurance regulatory officials. Its overriding objective is to assist state insurance regulators in protecting consumers and helping maintain the financial stability of the insurance industry by offering financial, actuarial, legal, computer, research, market conduct and economic expertise. Formed in 1871, the NAIC is the oldest association of state officials.

Bowman, a native of Hazen, was appointed to a four year term as Insurance Commissioner, Jan. 15, 2005, by former governor Mike Huckabee. Under her leadership, the Arkansas Insurance Department has developed an ongoing consumer education and awareness program.

She received her B.A. degree in political science and speech communications from Ouachita Baptist University in 1985, and earned her Juris Doctor from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law in 1989.

Source: Arkansas Insurance Department

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.