La. Parishes Added to Federal Disaster Declaration

November 20, 2006

Louisiana Gov. Kathleen Babineaux Blanco’s office announced that, at the governor’s request, the Federal Emergency Management Agency has expanded the disaster declaration that followed severe storms that hit the state on Oct. 26 and 27.

The order FEMA issued on Friday, Nov. 17 will allow people in Calcasieu Parish and other parishes in Southwest Louisiana to apply for assistance in recovering from flooding and other damage.

In addition to covering Calcasieu Parish, the FEMA catastrophe order covers these parishes for individual assistance:

Allen, Beauregard, Jefferson Davis, St. Helena and St. Landry.

The order allows these parishes to apply for public assistance:
Calcasieu, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis and St. Helena Parish.

The declaration also makes property owners in Acadia, Allen, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis, St. Helena and St. Landry Parishes eligible to apply for hazard mitigation grants.

Source: Louisiana Governor’s Office

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.