Small Businesses in Texas and Okla. Qualify for Disaster Loans

June 14, 2006

Small businesses in 39 Texas counties and one in Oklahoma are eligible for low-interest loans meant to recoup losses from several natural disasters that occurred this year, the U.S. Small Business Administration said recently.

Businesses in Oldham, Potter, Calhoun and Hamilton counties may apply for the loans as drought conditions continue in the area.

Armstrong County became eligible after wildfires swept through the area in March, the administration said. Cooke and Gillespie counties qualify because of severe storms and freezing temperatures, respectively.

Neighboring counties that also qualify for the small business loans, which could be as high as $1.5 million each, include: Carson, Deaf Smith, Hartley, Hutchinson, Moore, Randall, Briscoe, Donley, Gray, Randall, Swisher, Aransas, Bosque, Comanche, Coryell, Erath, Jackson, Lampasas, Matagorda, Mills, Refugio, Victoria, Denton, Grayson, Montague, Wise, Blanco, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Llano, Mason, as well as Quay County in New Mexico and Love County in Oklahoma.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.