St. Tammany Parish Now Eligible for Disaster Unemployment Benefits

October 21, 2005

Individuals living or working in St. Tammany Parish can file for Disaster Unemployment Assistance, the Louisiana Department of Labor announced.

The federal government has already designated the following parishes as eligible for disaster unemployment benefits in the aftermath of Hurricane Rita: Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Evangeline, Iberia, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lafourche, Plaquemines, Sabine, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, Terrebonne, Vermilion, Vernon and West Baton Rouge.

Individuals living or working in these parishes have until Nov. 30 to file for DUA. To receive DUA benefits, individuals must provide their social security number, proof of wages, and proof of employment, including the name and address of the last employer. Self-employed individuals must provide their business and financial records, including federal income tax returns for the most recent tax year.

Claims may be filed several ways: in person at any LDOL One Stop or job center; online at; or by calling (800) 430-8076 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., Monday through Friday.

DUA provides financial assistance to individuals whose employment or self-employment has been lost or interrupted as a direct result of a major disaster declared by the President of the United States.

Last month, individuals affected by Hurricane Katrina also received an extension to Nov. 30 for filing disaster unemployment assistance claims.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.