ICT Awards $15,000 in Scholarships

October 14, 2005

The Insurance Council of Texas announced it has awarded $15,000 in academic scholarships to students majoring in insurance and risk management at Baylor University, the University of Texas at Austin and the University of North Texas.

“These ICT scholarship recipients excel in all of their classes and the industry is fortunate that they have chosen insurance and risk management as their preferred profession,” said Mark Hanna, an ICT spokesman. “All of these students were highly recommended because of their motivation and academic achievements.”

Baylor students receiving $1,000 scholarships are John McCaleb, Robert Alan Meyers, Jr., Jack A. Starks, Jr., Tuyet Luong and Edgar Coronado.

The University of Texas at Austin students receiving $1,000 scholarships are Sofia Shaikh, Neal Piyush Patel, Lauren Leigh Perry, Michael Brandon McPhail and Glenda Su.

The University of North Texas students receiving $1,000 scholarships are Miika Baldwin, Masha Evans, Darin Price, Brian Taylor and Yazmin Villareal.

This is the fourth year that ICT has awarded scholarships to promising young students in Texas. During this time ICT has awarded $65,000 in scholarships to 81 university students.

Companies interested in contacting these scholarship recipients for potential job opportunities or internships are asked to contact Hanna at mhanna@insurancecouncil.org or (512) 444-9611.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.