TWCC Approves Certificates of Authority for Seven Companies to Self-Insure

November 23, 2004

The Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission has approved a first-time application for a Certificate of Authority to Self-Insure for one company and also approved the renewal of certificates for six other companies during a recent public meeting.

Texas law allows certain large, private employers to self-insure for their workers’ compensation liabilities for worker injuries. Each of these employers must have a minimum workers’ compensation manual premium of $500,000 and meet other requirements to be approved as a Certified Self-Insurer in Texas. A Certificate of Authority to Self-Insure must be renewed annually.

The Commission’s Self-Insurance Program is the approved program in Texas to allow certain private employers to self-insure for workers’ injuries while retaining the protection of workers’ comp insurance coverage as provided for by the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. Covered employers cannot be sued by injured employees except in cases of gross negligence.

New and renewed Certificates of Authority to Self-Insure were approved by the Commission for the following companies that employ a total of 15,185 workers in Texas. The companies are listed with the city and state of the company headquarters:

AAA Cooper Transportation, Dothan, Ala.,
American Electric Power Company Inc., Columbus, Ohio,
Archer-Daniels-Midland Company, Decatur, Ill.,
AT&T Corp. Bedminster, N.J.,
Kimberly-Clark Corporation, Neenah, Wis.,
The Sherwin-Williams Company, Cleveland, Ohio,
VF Corporation, Greensboro, N.C.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.