Insurance Commissioners Elected in 5 States

November 9, 2016

Now that the presidential election has been decided, attention has turned to some of the smaller races within each state. Five states held elections for insurance commissioner yesterday.

According to, incumbent Karen Weldin Stewart, sought a third term during this election but was defeated by current New Castle County Sheriff Trinidad Navarro. Both are Democrats. Democrats have held the seat since 2005. Trinidad is a former police officer and insurance agent.

While the votes are still being counted for Montana’s Commissioner of Securities and Insurance Auditor role, left vacant by Democrat Monica Lindeen, it appears Republican Matt Rosendale is posed to win the seat. Lindeen decided to forgo running for re-election, instead running for secretary of state. She lost to Republican Corey Stapleton by a wide margin, according to Montana’s state election results page.

In North Carolina, Democrat Wayne Goodwin, insurance commissioner since 2009 was narrowly defeated by Mike Causey, a Republican and insurance agency owner.

Three candidates vied for the role of insurance commissioner in North Dakota. Democrat Ruth Buffalo, an educator, Republican Jon Godfread, vice president of governmental affairs at the Greater North Dakota Chamber and Libertarian Nick Bata, a drywall contractor. Godfread won with a majority of the votes.

In Washington, Mike Kreidler, the state’s insurance commissioner since 2001 held on to his seat for yet another term.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.