CPCU Society Elects 2006-07 Officers, Governors

September 29, 2006

The CPCU Society elected new officers and governors during the CPCU Society’s 62nd Annual Meeting and Seminars in Nashville, TN, Sept. 9-12. These new positions are effective immediately.

The following officers of the board have been officially elected:

CPCU Society President: Betsey L. Brewer, is senior vice president of The Rule Company in Pasadena, Calif. Brewer is a member and past president of the Society’s Los Angeles Chapter. Nationally, she has served as a CPCU Society governor from 1998 to 2002, and as a third-year governor on the Executive Committee.

CPCU Society President-Elect: James L. Britt, is a managing director of Marsh USA Inc. in Charlotte, N.C. An active member and past president of the CPCU Society’s Charlotte Chapter, Britt chaired the 2004 Annual Meeting Task Force. He also served the Society as a 1995-1996 regional vice president.

CPCU Society Vice President: Marvin Kelly, is executive director of Texas Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association in Austin, Texas. Kelly will serve a one-year term as vice president, and then automatically move into the positions of president-elect, president, and immediate past president. He will serve as the Society’s 2008-2009 president.

CPCU Society Secretary/Treasurer: Larry L. Klein, is a vice president, pricing for the Alternative Solutions-Group Captives Business Unit of Zurich North America in Schaumburg, Ill. Klein, who served as the Society’s 2002-2005 Secretary/Treasurer, is serving a second three-year term. He is a member of the CPCU Society’s Chicago-Northwest Suburban Chapter, and a past member and president of the Philadelphia Chapter.

Also continuing her service on the board is Millicent W. Workman, the CPCU Society’s Immediate Past President. Workman is a research analyst with International Risk Management Institute, Inc. (IRMI) based in Dallas, Texas. She is a past president and treasurer of the Society’s Memphis Chapter.

The following newly elected governors, who will serve a three-year term, are:

Benjamin M. Anderson, secretary/treasurer for Claims and Risk Services in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Anthony W. Bucci Jr., president of Bucci Insurance Group in West Warwick, R.I.

James R. Jones, director of the Katie School of Insurance and Financial Services at Illinois State University in Normal, Ill.

Kenneth K. Kanehiro, a consultant based in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Manus C. “Chris” O’Donnell, administrative vice president and director of Corporate Insurance and Risk for M&T Bank in Buffalo, N.Y.

Patrick W. Reilly, assistant vice president-casualty broker for International Placement Services Inc. in St. Louis, Mo.

Sharon M. Romano, vice president and co-founder of Demotech, Inc., in Columbus, O.H.

Eli E. Shupe Jr., underwriting director in the Commercial Lines Department of The Cincinnati Insurance Companies in Fairfield, O.H.

Rodney K. Stoffels, commercial lines associate manager for Harleysville Insurance in Edina, Minn.

Jane M. Wahl, a process manager for State Farm Insurance Companies in Jacksonville, Fla.

Daniel L. Walker, chief claims officer for Canal Insurance Company in Greenville, SC, and Charlotte, N.C.

Anthony L. Cabot, CPCU Society’s International Governor, and will serve a two-year term. Cabot is the Country Manager for XL Insurance in Milan, Italy.

William C. Wilson Jr., and Larry D. Oney will serve as at-large governors for the 2006-2007 year. Their terms begin Oct. 1.

William C. Wilson Jr., director of the Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of America’s Virtual University.

Larry D. Oney, president and chief executive officer of Hammerman & Gainer International in New Orleans, La.

Source: CPCU Society

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.