‘Right to Repair Act’ Adds 9 More Supporters

September 22, 2005

Congressional support for the Motor Vehicle Owners’ Right to Repair Act reportedly continues to grow as nine new co- sponsors signed on to H.R. 2048, it was announced Thursday by Kathleen Schmatz, president and CEO of the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA). The proposed legislation currently has 50 co-sponsors.

“We applaud the most recent co-sponsors for supporting a vital piece of legislation that benefits every consumer who owns a vehicle as well as every small business owner in the automotive aftermarket,” said Schmatz. “The grass roots marketing by AAIA and its partners, combined with frequent visibility on Capitol Hill, is clearly paying off. We are keeping the pressure on the car companies and building support in the House.”

The nine new legislators supporting the “Right to Repair Act” are Reps. Michael Bilirakis (R-Fla.); Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.); Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.); Michael Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.); Alcee Hastings (D-Fla.); Sue Myrick (R-N.C.); John Peterson (R-Pa.); Bobby Rush (D-Ill.) and Ted Strickland (D-Ohio).

The “Right to Repair Act,” which was introduced by Reps. Joe Barton, (R-Texas), Edolphus Towns, (D-N.Y.) and Darrel Issa (R-Calif.), would require the car companies to make the same service information and tools capabilities available to independents that they provide their franchised dealer networks.

Architects of the Right to Repair Act added new language this year to clarify that car company trade secrets are protected unless that information is provided to the franchised new car dealer.

The new language also clarifies the responsibilities of the Federal Trade Commission in enforcing the bill’s requirements.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.