Quinn Declares Seven Illinois Counties as Disaster Areas

November 19, 2013

Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn is declaring seven Illinois counties as disaster areas after massive storms packing funnel clouds ripped through the state.

The governor’s office says Monday that the declaration area covers Champaign, Grundy, LaSalle, Massac, Tazewell, Washington and Woodford counties.

Sunday’s storms killed at least six people and injured dozens of others, while damaging and destroying hundreds of businesses and cutting power to tens of thousands of residents.

The disaster designation is aimed at making it easier for state resources to help hard-hit communities.

Quinn’s office says technical rescue teams have been dispatched across Illinois. He was set to tour storm damage on Monday.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.