South Dakota Governor Asks for Blizzard Disaster Declaration

November 4, 2013

South Dakota’s governor has asked for a presidential disaster declaration for 14 counties and two American Indian reservations hit by an early October blizzard.

Gov. Dennis Daugaard’s request is for public assistance in those counties, snow removal help in six counties that had record snowfalls, debris removal and disaster unemployment assistance.

The state says assessments done this week show a preliminary estimate of nearly $38 million in damage to public infrastructure and property of private, nonprofit entities. If a presidential disaster declaration is granted, a more detailed assessment of costs will start.

Counties included in the disaster request are Butte, Corson, Custer, Dewey, Fall River, Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins, Shannon and Ziebach, as well as the Cheyenne River Indian Reservation and the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.