Map Shows Weather Disasters Across Minnesota

April 12, 2013

An advocacy group is out with a new report that illustrates Minnesota’s vulnerability to weather disasters.

The report released by Environment Minnesota includes a clickable online map showing that 82 of Minnesota’s 87 counties have sustained federally declared weather disasters since 2007. Those disasters including flooding, tornadoes and severe storms. Only Koochiching County in far north-central Minnesota, and Todd, Morrison, Benton and Sherburne counties in central Minnesota stayed off the federal disaster lists in that five-year period.

Environment Minnesota announced the report at an event in Duluth on Tuesday to mark the upcoming anniversary of heavy rain and flooding last June. The group says climate change is making such disasters and extreme weather events more frequent, highlighting the need to reduce carbon emissions from power plants and motor vehicles.

Environment Minnesota:

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.