USDA: 55 Indiana Counties in Natural Disaster Area

July 16, 2012

Farmers in 55 drought-stricken counties in Indiana will be eligible for disaster assistance under changes made by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The USDA has announced it was streamlining the process for farmers to apply for disaster help, making more than 1,000 counties nationwide eligible for assistance. A map released by the USDA shows primary disasters are being declared in 36 counties in Indiana and 19 contiguous counties.

The eligible primary counties are in 20 northeastern counties – as far west as St. Joseph and Pulaski counties and as far south as Carroll and Howard counties – and in 16 southwestern counties – as far east as Crawford County and as far north as Sullivan, Greene and Lawrence counties. Farmers in adjacent counties also are eligible.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.