State of Emergency Declared in 16 Minnesota Counties

July 12, 2011

Gov. Mark Dayton has declared a state of emergency in 16 counties because of extensive damage from the July 1 storms.

The storm system spawned supercell thunderstorms and tornadoes as it moved from southwestern Minnesota northeast across the state and into Wisconsin and Upper Michigan.

Under Dayton’s order, dated Saturday, state agencies are directed to provide necessary help to local units of government, and to determine the need for supplementary disaster aid. It also allows insurance adjusters licensed in other states to serve Minnesota policy-holders.

The counties covered by his order are: Anoka, Brown, Isanti, Kanabec, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Pine, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Scott, Stearns, Wright, and Yellow Medicine.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.