USDA Designates 4 Kansas Counties Disaster Areas

January 31, 2011

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated four counties in Kansas as natural disaster areas.

The agency’s declaration cited excessive rain, heat and drought between April 23 and Nov. 1 of last year.

The four counties are Coffey, Osage, Shawnee and Wabaunsee. Such a designation makes farmers eligible for low interest emergency loans.

Farmers in contiguous counties would also qualify for natural disaster assistance. Those counties are Allen, Anderson, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood and Jackson.

Also qualifying for aid are Jefferson, Lyon, Morris Pottawatomie, Riley and Woodson counties.

Was this article valuable?

Here are more articles you may enjoy.